Feb 01
Municipality invests big in education


TEACHERS and pupils alike from Rural School and former Model C Schools in the district that excellently performed during the 2017 academic year reaped the rewards of their hard work and were awarded accordingly by the municipality during this municipality's annual Mayoral Bursary Awards held at the Port Shepstone Civic Centre yesterday.

We have awarded bursaries of R10 000 to 48 beneficiaries who have been accepted to registered tertiary institutions around the country for 2018. We awarded nine of the 48 beneficiaries for being top achievers in the Class of 2017. Our total contribution is R480 000, growing the number of beneficiaries by 11 and our financial aid by R100 000 from 2017.

This year, we went beyond awarding just excelling pupils from disadvantaged backgrounds, we also awarded top achievers across the board. We further introduced a new element to these awards, that of recognising top subject achievers, best overall achievers in each local municipality, best performing teachers in various subjects, best performing schools and most improved schools.

The inception of this programme came about through the identification of a need to financially assist deserving students to further their education and ensure an improved level of the graduate professional base. This programme also enables us to put emphasis on the importance of local government playing a pivotal role towards building a strong local graduate professional base by providing much needed assistance to deserving students who are studying towards a professional career.

This will be an achievement for this district through ensuring that education remains at the apex of our priorities in moving our District forward. 

We remain committed to ensuring that we continue to plant the seed of education in our schools and ensure that our top achievers and pupils from disadvantaged backgrounds claim their rights to education through initiatives such as this Mayoral Bursary Fund Programme also available in the local municipalities.​

Thank you

Cllr MA Chiliza , Mayor Ugu District Municipality